Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Bulgarian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center is closed on Saturdays, Sundays, January 1, and December 25.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2019, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Note:  The following Bulgarian holidays in 2019 fall on Saturdays and Sundays: National Day (March 3, Sunday), Orthodox Easter (April 27-28, Saturday and Sunday), and Independence Day (September 22, Sunday).

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2019
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day U.S., Bulgaria
January 21 Monday Martin Luther King Day U.S.
February 18 Monday Presidents’ Day U.S.
March 4 Monday National Day (observed) Bulgaria
April 26 Friday Good Friday Bulgaria
April 29 Monday Orthodox Easter Monday Bulgaria
May 1 Wednesday Labor Day Bulgaria
May 6 Monday St. George’s Day and Day of Valor of the Bulgarian Army Bulgaria
May 24 Friday Saint Cyril & Methodius Day Bulgaria
May 27 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 4 Thursday Independence Day U.S.
September 2 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 6 Friday Unification Day Bulgaria
September 23 Monday Independence Day (observed) Bulgaria
October 14 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 11 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 28 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 24 Tuesday Christmas Eve Bulgaria
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day U.S., Bulgaria
December 26 Thursday Day after Christmas Bulgaria