Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Japanese holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center observes U.S. and Japanese holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy and Consulate Dates of Closure 

During the year 2019, the Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2019
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Tuesday New Year’s Day U.S. and Japan
January 21 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday U.S.
February 11 Monday National Foundation Day Japan
February 18 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
April 29, April 30, May 1, May 2,  May 3, May 5, May 6 Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Sunday (Observed on Monday) Golden Week Holidays Japan
May 27 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 4 Thursday Independence Day U.S.
July 15 Monday Marine Day Japan
August 11, August 12 Sunday
(Observed on Monday)
Mountain Day Japan
September 2 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 16 Monday Respect for the Aged Day Japan
September 23 Monday Autumn Equinox Day Japan
October 14 Monday Columbus Day/Sports Day U.S.
October 22 Tuesday Enthronement Ceremony Japan
November 11 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 28 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day U.S.