Holidays and Closures

On this page:


The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Japanese holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center observes U.S. and Japanese holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy and Consulate Dates of Closure

During the year 2016, the Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2016
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Friday New Year’s Day U.S. and Japan
January 11 Monday Adult's Day Japan
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day U.S.
February 11 Thursday National Foundation Day Japan
February 15 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
March 20 Sunday (To be observed on Mon, Mar 21) Vernal Equinox Day Japan
April 29 Friday Golden Week Holiday Japan
May 30 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 4 Monday Independence Day U.S.
July 18 Monday Marine Day Japan
August 11 Thursday Mountain Day Japan
September 5 Monday Labor Day Japan
September 19 Monday Respect for the Aged Day U.S. and Japan
September 22 Thursday Autumn Equinox Day Japan
October 10 Monday Columbus Day/Sports Day U.S. and Japan
November 3 Thursday Culture Day Japan
November 11 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 23 Wednesday Labor Thanksgiving Day U.S.
November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 23 Friday Emperor’s Birthday Japan
December 25 Sunday (To be observed on, Mon Dec 26) Christmas Day U.S.