Holidays and Closures

On this page:



Additional Closures for Nonimmigrant Visa Unit during March, 2018

No interviews on the following date: March 19
No afternoon interviews on the following dates: March 9, March 20 ~ March 30
Call center will operate normal during above dates.


The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Korean holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center observes U.S. and Korean holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2018, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Monday New Years Day U.S. and South Korea
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday U.S.
February 15, 16 Thursday, Friday Seol-Nal (Lunar New Years Day) South Korea
February 19 Monday President's Day U.S.
March 1 Thursday Sam Il Jul (Independence Movement Day) South Korea
May 7 Monday Children's Day South Korea
May 28 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 6 Wednesday Hyun Choong Il (Memorial Day) South Korea
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day U.S.
August 15 Wednesday Kwang Bok Jul (Independence Day) South Korea
September 3 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 24,25,26 Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday Chusok (Korean Thanksgiving) South Korea
October 3 Wednesday Kae Chun Jul (Nat’l Foundation Day) South Korea
October 8 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
October 9 Tuesday Han Geul Nal (Korean Alphabet Day) South Korea
November 12 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Monday Christmas Day U.S. and South Korea