Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Nicaraguan holidays and will be closed on those dates. The US Visa Service Desk is closed Sundays, December 25, and January 1.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2018, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country or Embassy
January 01 Monday  New Year's Day U.S. & Nicaragua
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King's Birthday U.S.
February 19 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
March 29 Thursday Holy Thursday Nicaragua
March 30 Friday Good Friday  Nicaragua
May 01 Monday Nicaraguan Labor Day Nicaragua
May 28 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 04 Wednesday US Independence Day U.S.
July 19 Thursday Revolution Anniversary  Nicaragua
August 01 Wednesday Festival of Santo Domingo  Nicaragua
August 10 Thursday  Festival of  Santo Domingo  Nicaragua
September 03 Monday  Labor Day U.S.
September 14 Friday Battle of San Jacinto  Nicaragua
October 08 Monday  Columbus  Day U.S.
November 12 Monday Veteran’s Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day U.S. & Nicaragua