Holidays and Closures

On this page:

Overview

The U.S. Embassy/Consulate observes both U.S. and Russian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Russian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy/Consulate Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure - Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country
December 25 Monday Christmas Day U.S.
Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Monday New Year Holidays U.S., Russia
January 2 - 5 Tue - Fri New Year Holidays Russia
January 8 Monday New Year Holidays Russia
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day U.S.
February 19 Monday President's Day U.S.
February 23 Friday Defender’s Day Russia
March 8 Thursday Women's Day Russia
March 9 Friday Bridge holiday (transferred from Saturady, January 6) Russia
April 30 Monday Bridge Holiday Russia
May 1 Tuesday May Day Russia
May 2 Wednesday Bridge holiday (transferred from Sunday, January 7) Russia
May 9 Wednesday Victory Day Russia
May 28 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 11 Monday Bridge Holiday Russia
June 12 Tuesday Russian Independence Day Russia
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day U.S.
September 3 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 8 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 5 Monday Day of Consent and Reconciliation Russia
November 12 Monday Veteran's Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day U.S.
December 31 Monday Bridge Holiday Russia