Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Saudi Arabian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Saudi Arabian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy or Consulate General Dates of Closure

During the year 2016, the U.S. Embassy or Consulate General will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017

Date Day Holiday Country
1-Jan Sunday New Year’s Day United State
15-Jan Friday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday United States
19-Feb Sunday Washington's Birthday United States
28-May Sunday Memorial Day United States
25-Jun Sunday-Thursday Eid-al-Fitr/Ramadan-1438 Saudi Arabia
4-Jul Tuesday Independence Day United States
3-Sep Sunday Labor Day United States
4-7 Sep Monday-Thursday **Eid-al-Adha/Haj 1438 Saudi Arabia
24-Sep Sunday Saudi National Day Saudi Arabia
8-Oct Sunday Columbus Day United States
12-Nov Sunday Veterans' Day United States
23-Nov Thursday Thanksgiving Day

United States

 

**These local holidays are governed by the lunar calendar; exact dates will/must be confirmed by the Saudi authorities on a later date and may be subject to change.