Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Consulate observes both U.S. and Australian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center observes U.S. and Australian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Consulate Dates of Closure

 During the year 2021, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below. 

Mission Australia Public Holidays for 2021

Holiday

Country

Observed by

Date

New Year's Day

US/Australia

All Posts

Friday, January 1, 2021

Martin Luther King Jr. Day

US

All Posts

Monday, January 18, 2021

Australia Day

Australia

All Posts

Tuesday, January 26, 2021

Washington’s Birthday

US

All Posts

Monday, February 15, 2021

Labour Day

Australia

Perth Only

Monday, March 1, 2021

Labour Day

Australia

Melbourne Only

Monday, March 8, 2021

Canberra Day

Australia

Canberra Only

Monday, March 8, 2021

Good Friday

Australia

All Posts

Friday, April 2, 2021

Easter Saturday*

Australia

Canberra, Melbourne, and Sydney Only

Saturday, April 3, 2021

Easter Sunday*

Australia

Canberra, Melbourne, and Sydney Only

Sunday, April 4, 2021

Easter Monday

Australia

All Posts

Monday, April 5, 2021

ANZAC Day Sunday*

Australia

Melbourne, Perth, and Sydney Only

Sunday, April 25, 2021

ANZAC Day

Australia

Canberra and Perth Only

Monday, April 26, 2021

Memorial Day

US

All Posts

Monday, May 31, 2021

Reconciliation Day

Australia

Canberra Only

Monday, May 31, 2021

Western Australia Day

Australia

Perth Only

Monday, June 7, 2021

Queen’s Birthday

Australia

Canberra, Melbourne, and Sydney Only

Monday, June 14, 2021

Independence Day

US

All Posts

Monday, July 5, 2021

Civic Holiday

Australia

Sydney Only

Monday, August 2, 2021

Labor Day

US

All Posts

Monday, September 6, 2021

Queen’s Birthday

Australia

Perth Only

Monday, September 27, 2021

Labour Day

Australia

Canberra and Sydney Only

Monday, October 4, 2021

Columbus Day

US

All Posts

Monday, October 11, 2021

Melbourne Cup Day

Australia

Melbourne Only

Tuesday, November 2, 2021

Veterans Day

US

All Posts

Thursday, November 11, 2021

Thanksgiving

US

All Posts

Thursday, November 25, 2021

Christmas Day (US Recognized)

US

All Posts

Friday, December 24, 2021

Christmas Day Saturday*

Australia

All Posts

Saturday, December 25, 2021

Boxing Day Sunday*

Australia

All Posts

Sunday, December 26, 2021

Christmas Day (Australia Recognized)

Australia

All Posts

Monday, December 27, 2021

Boxing Day

Australia

All Posts

Tuesday, December 28, 2021

New Year’s Day (US Recognized)

US

All Posts

Friday, December 31, 2021

AFL Grand Final Day

Australia

Melbourne Only

TBD

*Indicates that this is recognized as a public holiday in Australia and should be treated as such for payroll and time and attendance purposes even though no staff regularly work on these days.