Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Consulate observes both U.S. and Australian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center observes U.S. and Australian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Consulate Dates of Closure

 

During the year 2022, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below. 

Holiday 

Country 

Observed by 

Date 

Labor Day 

US 

All Posts 

Monday, September 5, 2022 

AFL Grand Final Day 

Australia 

Melbourne Only 

Friday, September 23, 2022

Queen’s Birthday 

Australia 

Perth Only 

Monday, September 26, 2022 

Labour Day 

Australia 

Canberra and Sydney Only 

Monday, October 3, 2022 

Columbus Day 

US 

All Posts 

Monday, October 10, 2022 

Melbourne Cup Day 

Australia 

Melbourne Only 

Tuesday, November 1, 2022 

Veterans Day 

US 

All Posts 

Friday, November 11, 2022 

Thanksgiving 

US 

All Posts 

Thursday, November 24, 2022 

Christmas Day Saturday

Australia 

All Posts 

Sunday, December 25, 2022 

Christmas Day (US Recognized) 

US 

All Posts 

Monday, December 26, 2022 

Boxing Day 

Australia 

All Posts 

Monday, December 26, 2022 

Christmas Day (Australia Recognized) 

Australia 

All Posts 

Tuesday, December 27, 2022 

New Year’s Day Sunday

Australia 

Sydney, Melbourne, and Perth Only 

Sunday, January 1, 2023 

New Year’s Day 

US/Australia 

All Posts 

Monday, January 2, 2023 

Martin Luther King Jr. Day

US

All Posts

Monday, January 16, 2023

Australia Day

Australia

All Posts

Thursday, January 26, 2023

Washington’s Birthday

US

All Posts

Monday, February 20, 2023

Labour Day

Australia

Perth Only

Monday, March 6, 2023

Labour Day

Australia

Melbourne Only

Monday, March 13, 2023

Canberra Day

Australia

Canberra Only

Monday, March 13, 2023

Good Friday

Australia

All Posts

Friday, April 07, 2023

Easter Saturday*

Australia

Canberra, Melbourne, and Sydney Only

Saturday, April 08, 2023

Easter Sunday*

Australia

Canberra, Melbourne, and Sydney Only

Sunday, April 09, 2023

Easter Monday

Australia

All Posts

Monday, April 10, 2023

ANZAC Day

Australia

All Posts

Tuesday, April 25, 2023

Memorial Day

US

All Posts

Monday, May 29, 2023

Reconciliation Day

Australia

Canberra Only

Monday, May 29, 2023

Western Australia Day

Australia

Perth Only

Monday, June 5, 2023

King’s Birthday

Australia

Canberra, Melbourne, and Sydney Only

Monday, June 12, 2023

Juneteenth

US

All Posts

Monday, June 19, 2023

Independence Day

US

All Posts

Tuesday, July 4, 2023

Civic Holiday

Australia

Sydney Only

Monday, August 7, 2023

Labor Day

US

All Posts

Monday, September 4, 2023

AFL Grand Final Day

Australia

Melbourne Only

TBD

King’s Birthday

Australia

Perth Only

Monday, September 25, 2023

Labour Day

Australia

Canberra and Sydney Only

Monday, October 2, 2023

Columbus Day

US

All Posts

Monday, October 09, 2023

Melbourne Cup Day

Australia

Melbourne Only

Tuesday, November 7, 2023

Veterans Day

US

All Posts

Friday, November 10, 2023

Thanksgiving

US

All Posts

Thursday, November 23, 2023

Christmas Day

US/Australia

All Posts

Monday December 25, 2023

Boxing Day

Australia

All Posts

Tuesday, December 26, 2023

New Year’s Day

US/Australia

All Posts

Monday, January 1, 2024