Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Consulate observes both U.S. and Australian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center observes U.S. and Australian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Consulate Dates of Closure

 During the year 2020, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below. 

 

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2020

Public Holiday

Country

Observed By

Date Observed

New Year's Day

U.S./Australia

All posts

Wednesday, January 1, 2020

Martin Luther King Jr. Day

U.S.

All posts

Monday, January 20, 2020

Australia Day

Australia

All posts

Monday, January 27, 2020

Washington's Birthday

U.S.

All posts

Monday, February 17, 2020

Labour Day

Australia

Perth only

Monday, March 2, 2020

Labour Day

Australia

Melbourne only

Monday, March 9, 2020

Canberra Day

Australia

Canberra only

Monday, March 9, 2020

Good Friday

Australia

All posts

Friday, April 10, 2020

Easter Saturday

Australia

All posts

Saturday, April 11, 2020

Easter Sunday

Australia

All posts Sunday, April 12, 2020

Easter Monday

Australia

All posts

Monday, April 13, 2020

ANZAC Day

Australia

All posts

Saturday, April 25, 2020

ANZAC Day

Australia

Perth Only

Monday, April 27, 2020

Memorial Day

U.S.

All posts

Monday, May 25, 2020

Reconciliation Day

Australia

Canberra Only

Monday, June 1, 2020

Western Australia Day

Australia

Perth only

Monday, June 1, 2020

Queen's Birthday

Australia

Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney only

Monday, June 8, 2020

Independence Day

U.S.

All posts

Friday, July 3, 2020

Civic Holiday

Australia

Sydney only

Monday, August 3, 2020

Labor Day

U.S.

All posts

Monday, September 7, 2020

Queen's Birthday

Australia

Perth only

Monday, September 28, 2020

AFL Grand Final Day

Australia

Melbourne only

TBD

Labour Day

Australia

Canberra, Sydney only

Monday, October 5, 2020

Columbus Day

U.S.

All posts

Monday, October 12, 2020

Melbourne Cup

Australia

Melbourne only

Tuesday, November 3, 2020

Veterans day

U.S.

All posts

Wednesday, November 11, 2020

Thanksgiving Day

U.S.

All posts

Thursday, November 26, 2020

Christmas Day

U.S./Australia

All posts

Friday, December 25, 2020

Boxing Day

Australia

All posts

Saturday, December 26, 2020

Boxing Day

Australia

All posts

Monday, December 28, 2020