Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Consulate observes both U.S. and Australian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center observes U.S. and Australian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Consulate Dates of Closure

 During the year 2021, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below. 

Holiday

Country

Observed by

Date

Labour Day

Australia

Canberra and Sydney Only

Monday, October 4, 2021

Columbus Day

US

All Posts

Monday, October 11, 2021

Melbourne Cup Day

Australia

Melbourne Only

Tuesday, November 2, 2021

Veterans Day

US

All Posts

Thursday, November 11, 2021

Thanksgiving

US

All Posts

Thursday, November 25, 2021

Christmas Day (US Recognized)

US

All Posts

Friday, December 24, 2021

Christmas Day Saturday*

Australia

All Posts

Saturday, December 25, 2021

Boxing Day Sunday*

Australia

All Posts

Sunday, December 26, 2021

Christmas Day (Australia Recognized)

Australia

All Posts

Monday, December 27, 2021

Boxing Day

Australia

All Posts

Tuesday, December 28, 2021

New Year’s Day (US Recognized)

US

All Posts

Friday, December 31, 2021

 

During the year 2022, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below. 

Holiday 

Country 

Observed by 

Date 

New Year's Day

Australia 

All Posts 

Saturday, January 1, 2022 

New Year's Day 

Australia 

All Posts 

Monday, January 3, 2022 

Martin Luther King Jr. Day 

US 

All Posts 

Monday, January 17, 2022 

Australia Day 

Australia 

All Posts 

Wednesday, January 26, 2022 

Washington’s Birthday 

US 

All Posts 

Monday, February 21, 2022 

Labour Day 

Australia 

Perth Only 

Monday, March 7, 2022 

Labour Day 

Australia 

Melbourne Only 

Monday, March 14, 2022 

Canberra Day 

Australia 

Canberra Only 

Monday, March 14, 2022 

Good Friday 

Australia 

All Posts 

Friday, April 15, 2022 

Easter Saturday

Australia 

Canberra, Melbourne, and Sydney Only 

Saturday, April 16, 2022 

Easter Sunday

Australia 

Canberra, Melbourne, and Sydney Only 

Sunday, April 17, 2022 

Easter Monday 

Australia 

All Posts 

Monday, April 18, 2022 

ANZAC Day 

Australia 

All Posts 

Monday, April 25, 2022 

Memorial Day 

US 

All Posts 

Monday, May 30, 2022 

Reconciliation Day 

Australia 

Canberra Only 

Monday, May 30, 2022 

Western Australia Day 

Australia 

Perth Only 

Monday, June 6, 2022 

Queen’s Birthday 

Australia 

Canberra, Melbourne, and Sydney Only 

Monday, June 13, 2022 

Juneteenth

US

All Posts

Monday, June 20, 2022

Independence Day 

US 

All Posts 

Monday, July 4, 2022 

Civic Holiday 

Australia 

Sydney Only 

Monday, August 1, 2022 

Labor Day 

US 

All Posts 

Monday, September 5, 2022 

AFL Grand Final Day 

Australia 

Melbourne Only 

TBD 

Queen’s Birthday 

Australia 

Perth Only 

Monday, September 26, 2022 

Labour Day 

Australia 

Canberra and Sydney Only 

Monday, October 3, 2022 

Columbus Day 

US 

All Posts 

Monday, October 10, 2022 

Melbourne Cup Day 

Australia 

Melbourne Only 

Tuesday, November 1, 2022 

Veterans Day 

US 

All Posts 

Friday, November 11, 2022 

Thanksgiving 

US 

All Posts 

Thursday, November 24, 2022 

Christmas Day Saturday

Australia 

All Posts 

Sunday, December 25, 2022 

Christmas Day (US Recognized) 

US 

All Posts 

Monday, December 26, 2022 

Boxing Day 

Australia 

All Posts 

Monday, December 26, 2022 

Christmas Day (Australia Recognized) 

Australia 

All Posts 

Tuesday, December 27, 2022 

New Year’s Day Sunday

Australia 

Sydney, Melbourne, and Perth Only 

Sunday, January 1, 2023 

New Year’s Day 

US/Australia 

All Posts 

Monday, January 2, 2023