Visa Types

On this page:


Generally, a citizen of a foreign country who wishes to enter the United States must first obtain a visa, either a nonimmigrant visa for temporary stay or an immigrant visa for permanent residence. Citizens of qualified countries may be able to visit the U.S. without a visa under the Visa Waiver Program. All travelers coming to the United States under the Visa Waiver Program must obtain authorization through the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) system prior to initiating travel to the United States.

If you do not qualify for the Visa Waiver Program or are traveling to study, work, participate in an exchange program, or any other purpose that does not fall under a B visa (business/visitor) purpose of travel, you will need a nonimmigrant visa.

A visa does not guarantee entry to the United States. A visa simply indicates that a U.S. consular officer has determined that you are eligible to apply for entry to the United States for a specific purpose.

Nonimmigrant Visas

A nonimmigrant visa is used by tourists, business people, students, or specialty workers who wish to stay for a particular period of time in the United States to accomplish specific purposes. According to U.S. visa laws and regulations, most nonimmigrant visa applicants must demonstrate to the consular officer that they have strong ties to their country of residence and must show that they intend to depart the United States after their temporary stay.

Consular services in Australia are offered by the U.S. Consulates in Sydney, Melbourne and Perth. The U.S. Embassy in Canberra does not process visa applications. Immigrant visas are only processed by the U.S. Consulate in Sydney.

U.S. Consular Offices serve the states or territories in which you reside:

U.S. Consular Offices in Australia
State or Territory U.S. Consulate
Australian Capital Territory U.S. Consulate Sydney
New South Wales U.S. Consulate Sydney
Norfolk Island U.S. Consulate Sydney
Northern Territory U.S. Consulate Melbourne
Queensland U.S. Consulate Sydney
South Australia U.S. Consulate Melbourne
Tasmania U.S. Consulate Melbourne
Victoria U.S. Consulate Melbourne
Western Australia U.S. Consulate Perth