Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy and other U.S. agencies in Ouagadougou observe both U.S. and Burkinabe holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Burkinabe holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

In 2021, the U.S. Embassy will be closed on the below dates.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2021
DATE DAY OF WEEK HOLIDAY COUNTRY
January 1 Friday New Year’s Day U.S., Burkina Faso
January 4 Monday Burinka Faso National Day Burkina Faso
January 18 Monday MLK Birthday U.S.
February 15 Monday President's Day U.S.
March 8 Monday International Women's Day Burkina Faso
April 5 Monday Easter Monday Burkina Faso
May 1 Saturday International Labor Day Burkina Faso
May 11** Tuesday Eid-El-Fitr (Ramadan) Burkina Faso
May 13 Thursday Ascension Day Burkina Faso
May 31 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 5 Monday U.S. Independence Day U.S.
July 20** Tuesday Eid-Al-Kabir Burkina Faso
August 5 Thursday Independence Day Burkina Faso
August 16 Monday Assumption Day Burkina Faso
September 6 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 11 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
October 18** Monday Mouloud Burkina Faso
November 1 Monday All Saints' Day Burkina Faso
November 11 Thursday Veterans Day U.S.
November 25 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 11 Saturday Commemoration of Independece Burkina Faso
December 24 Friday Christmas Day U.S., Burkina Faso