Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Bulgarian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center is closed on weekends, and on Bulgarian and U.S. holidays, as observed by the U.S. Embassy.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2021, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2021
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Friday New Year's Day U.S., Bulgaria
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King Day U.S.
February 15 Monday Presidents’ Day U.S.
March 3 Wednesday National Day Bulgaria
April 30 Friday Good Friday Bulgaria
May 3 Monday Orthodox Easter Monday Bulgaria
May 4 Tuesday Labor Day Bulgaria
May 6 Thursday St. George’s Day and Day of Valor of the Bulgarian Army Bulgaria
May 24 Monday Saint Cyril & Methodius Day Bulgaria
May 31 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 5 Monday Independence Day U.S.
September 6 Monday Labor Day, Unification Day U.S., Bulgaria
September 22 Wednesday Independence Day Bulgaria
October 11 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 11 Thursday Veterans Day U.S.
November 25 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 24 Friday Christmas Day, Christmas Eve U.S., Bulgaria
December 27 Monday Christmas Day U.S., Bulgaria
December 28 Tuesday Day after Christmas(observed) Bulgaria
December 31 Friday 2022 New Year’s Day (observed) U.S.