Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and German holidays and will be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy or Consulate Dates of Closure

During the year 2021, the U.S. Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2021
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1, 2021 Friday New Year’s Day Ger/U.S.
January 6, 2021 *M Wednesday Epiphany Ger
January 18, 2021 Monday Martin Luther King Day U.S.
February 15, 2021 Monday President's Day U.S.
March 8, 2021 *B Monday International Women's Day Ger
April 2, 2021 Friday Good Friday Ger
April 5, 2021 Monday Easter Monday Ger
May 1, 2021 Saturday Labor Day Ger
May 13, 2021 Thursday Ascension Day Ger
May 24, 2021 Monday Whit Monday Ger
May 31, 2021 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 3, 2021 *F, M Thursday Corpus Christi Day Ger
July 5, 2021 Monday Independence Day U.S.
August 15, 2021 *M Sunday Assumption of Mary Day Ger
September 6, 2021 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 3, 2021 Sunday Day of German Unity Ger
October 12, 2021 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 1, 2021 *M Monday All Saint's Day Ger
November 11, 2021 Thursday Veterans Day U.S.
November 25, 2021 Thursday Thanksgiving U.S.
December 24, 2021 Friday Christmas Day  U.S.
December 25, 2021 Saturday Christmas Day Ger/U.S.
December 26, 2021 Sunday Christmas Day Ger
 Holidays identified with an asterisk (*) are celebrated only at certain posts: F=Frankfurt, M=Munich, B=Berlin