Holidays and Closures

Overview

The U.S. Embassy in Accra observes both U.S. and Ghanaian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Ghanaian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2021, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2021
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Friday New Year’s Day U.S./Ghana
January 7 Thursday Constitution Day Ghana
January 18 Monday M. L. King's Birthday U.S.
February 15 Monday Presidents' Day U.S.
March 8 Friday Independence Day Ghana
April 2 Friday Good Friday Ghana
April 5 Monday Easter Monday Ghana
May 3 Friday Labor Day Ghana
May 13 Thursday Eid-Il-Fitr** Ghana
May 31 Monday Memorial Day US
July 5 Monday Independence Day U.S.
July 20 Tuesday Eid-Il-Adha** Ghana
August 4 Wednesday Founders' Day Ghana
September 6 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 21 Tuesday Kwame Nkrumah Memoerial Day Ghana
October 11 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 11 Thursday Veterans Day U.S.
November 25 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 24 Friday Christmas Day U.S./Ghana
December 27 Monday Boxing Day Ghana
December 31 Friday New Year’s Day Ghana

 ** Date Subject To Change