Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy/Consulate observes both U.S. and Kazakh holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Kazakh holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy/Consulate Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2020
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Wednesday New Year’s Day U.S./Kazakhstan
January 2 Thursday New Year’s Day Kazakhstan
January 7 Tuesday Orthodox Christmas Kazakhstan
January 20 Monday Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. U.S.
February 17 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
March 9 Monday Women’s Day (in lieu of March 8) Kazakhstan
March 23 Monday Nauryz Kazakhstan
March 24 Tuesday Nauryz (in lieu of March 21) Kazakhstan
March 25 Wednesday Nauryz(in lieu of March 22) Kazakhstan
May 1 Friday Unity Day Kazakhstan
May 7 Thursday Defender’s Day Kazakhstan
May 8 Fiday Victory Day (in lieu of May 9) Kazakhstan
May 25 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 3 Friday Independence Day (in lieu of July 4) U.S.
July 6 Monday Capital Day Kazakhstan
July 31 Friday Kurban-Ait (Eid al-Adha) Kazakhstan
August 31 Monday Constitution Day (in lieu of August 30) Kazakhstan
September 7 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 12 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 11 Wednesday Veterans Day U.S.
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 1 Tuesday First President’s Day Kazakhstan
December 16 Wednesday Independence Day Kazakhstan
December 17 Thursday Independence Day Kazakhstan
December 25 Friday Christmas Day U.S.