Holidays and Closures

Overview

The U.S. Embassy in Abuja and the Consulate General in Lagos observe both U.S. and Nigerian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Nigerian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy/Consulate General Dates of Closure

The Embassy and the Consulate General will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2022
Date Day Holiday Country
December 31 Friday New Year's Day US
January 3 Monday New Year's Day Nigeria
January 17 Monday Martin Luther King Day US
February 21 Monday Washington's Birthday US
April 15 Friday Good Friday Nigeria
April 18 Monday Easter Monday Nigeria
May 2 Monday Workers Day** Nigeria
May 2 and May 3 Monday and Tuesday Eid-El-Fitr** Nigeria
May 30 Monday U.S. Memorial Day US
June 13 Saturday Democracy Day Nigeria
June 20 Monday Juneteenth US
July 4 Monday Independence Day US
July 11 and July 12 Monday and Tuesday Eid-El-Kabir** Nigeria
September 5 Monday Labor Day US
October 3 Monday Independence Day Nigeria
October 10 Monday Columbus Day US
October 10 Monday Eid-El-Maulud** Nigeria
November 11 Friday Veterans Day US
November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving US
December 26 Monday Christmas Holiday** US & Nigeria
December 27 Tuesday Boxing Day** Nigeria

**STC-These dates are subject to change.