Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Consulate observes both U.S. holidays, and New Zealand holidays observed in Auckland and will be closed on those dates. The call center also observes U.S. holidays and New Zealand holidays observed in Auckland and will also be closed on those dates. The U.S. Embassy in Wellington may observe a slightly different calendar.

Consulate Dates of Closure

During the year 2020, the Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below.  

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2020
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Wednesday New Year’s Day U.S. and New Zealand
January 2 Thursday Second Day of New Year New Zealand
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day U.S.
January 27 Monday Auckland Anniversary Day New Zealand
February 6 Thursday Waitangi Day New Zealand
February 17 Monday Washington's Day U.S.
April 10 Friday Good Friday New Zealand
April 13 Monday Easter Monday New Zealand
April 27 Monday ANZAC Day New Zealand
May 25 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 1 Monday Queen’s Birthday New Zealand
July 4

Observed on Friday, July 3

Independence Day U.S.
September 7 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 12 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
October 26 Monday Labour Day New Zealand
November 11 Wednesday Veterans Day U.S.
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Friday Christmas Day U.S. and New Zealand
December 26

Observed on Monday December 28

Boxing Day New Zealand