Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Panamanian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center is closed Sundays, December 25, and January 1.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2023, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below. 

Dates of Closure – All Dates 2023
DATE DAY HOLIDAY FROM
January 02 Monday NEW YEAR´S DAY U.S./PANAMA
January 09

Monday

MARTYR´S DAY PANAMA
January 16 Monday MARTIN LUTHER KING DAY U.S.
February 20 Monday

PRESIDENT´S DAY 

U.S.
February 21 Tuesday CARNIVAL DAY PANAMA
April 07 Friday GOOD FRIDAY PANAMA
May 1 Monday

LABOR DAY

PANAMA
May 29 Monday MEMORIAL DAY U.S.
June 19 Monday Juneteenth (Observed - Historic day is Sunday, June 19) U.S.
July 4 Tuesday INDEPENDENCE DAY  U.S.
September 4 Monday LABOR DAY U.S.
October 9 Monday COLUMBUS DAY U.S.
November 3 Friday INDEPENDENCE DAY FROM COLOMBIA PANAMA
November 6 Monday COLON DAY PANAMA
November 10 Friday THE UPRISING OF LOS SANTOS PANAMA
November 10 Friday

VETERANS DAY 

U.S.
November 23 Thursday THANKSGIVING DAY U.S.
November 28 Tuesday

INDEPENDENCE DAY FROM SPAIN

PANAMA
December 8 Friday MOTHER´S DAY

PANAMA

December 25 Monday

CHRISTMAS DAY (Actual day is Saturday, December 25)

U.S./PANAMA

Note: There is a possibility that Panamanian practice with regard to the observance of holidays may change; if so, a revised holiday schedule will be published.