Holidays and Closures

Overview

The U.S. Embassy in Jakarta and the Consulate General in Surabaya observe both U.S. and Indonesian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Indonesian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy/Consulate General Dates of Closure

2021
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Friday New Year's Day U.S. & Indonesian
January 18 Monday Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. U.S.
February 12 Friday Chinese New Year 2572 Indonesian
February 15 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
March 11 Thursday Isra Mi’raj Prophet of Muhammad Indonesian
April 2 Friday Good Friday Indonesian
 May 13 Thursday Ascension of Christ Indonesian
May 13 - 14 Thursday-Friday Idul Fitri 1442 Hijriyah Indonesian
May 26 Wednesday Waisak Day Indonesian
May 31 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 5 Monday Independence Day U.S.
 July 20 Tuesday Idul Adha 1442 Hijriyah Indonesian
 August 11 Wednesday Islamic New Year 1443 Hijriyah Indonesian
August 17 Tuesday Independence Day Indonesian
September 6 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 11 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
October 20 Wednesday Muhammad’s Birthday Indonesian
November 11 Thursday Veterans Day U.S.
November 25 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 24 Friday Christmas Day U.S.